Thursday, September 10, 2009

Gov Quinn Appoints Five to Univ. of Illinois Board of Trustees

NOTE: This is dated news, but we missed putting it on when it happened, and wished to add it, so it would be available as a link, should one want to link to it.

CHICAGO – September 4, 2009. Governor Pat Quinn made five appointments to the University of Illinois Board of Trustees. The appointments fill the remaining vacancies on the Board as it prepares for its September 10 meeting in Urbana.

“Each new member brings integrity, professionalism and experience to this very important Board,” said Governor Quinn. “They will work diligently and tirelessly on behalf of our great university.”

The five appointments include: Karen A. Hasara, former Mayor of Springfield; Timothy N. Koritz, Staff Anesthesiologist, Rockford Memorial Hospital; Edward L. McMillan, Principal and CEO, McMillan LLC; Pamela B. Strobel, retired Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of Exelon; and Carlos E. Tortolero, President, National Museum of Mexican Art. All five are graduates of the University of Illinois.

Recently, the University of Illinois Board of Trustees came under fire after it was revealed that a special “clout list”, with hundreds of applicants, had existed for years and that many on that list were granted favorable treatment and admission to the university. Governor Quinn issued an Executive Order forming the independent Admissions Review Commission, which investigated the “clout list” claims and ultimately recommended all nine appointed board trustees voluntarily resign.

These trustees join Christopher G. Kennedy, president of Merchandise Mart Properties Inc., and Lawrence Oliver II, chief counsel in charge of internal investigations for Boeing Co., who were appointed to the Board by Governor Quinn on August 26.

The University of Illinois Board of Trustees consists of thirteen members, including the Governor. Nine are appointed by the Governor for terms of six years, and three student trustees (one from each campus) are elected by referenda on their campuses for one-year terms. One of these student trustees is designated by the Governor to have an official vote.

No comments: